Skip to content

November 2nd Black Out

October 18, 2007

Warren Ballentine "The People’s Attorney" and radio Truth Fighter is calling for National Blackout throughout America on November 2nd in protest to all the present injustices African Americans are being subjected to in this nation.

I’ve got one question for any of us who aren’t ready to support such action. 

Why not?

It is apparent that righteousness is not the principal driving our government.  If it we’re Mychal Bell would not still be incarcerated, Megan Williams’ mother and father wouldn’t have to wonder why the atrocities committed against their child haven’t been designated hate crimes yet. If doing what was right were the interest of this government war would not be an economic engine, the unemployment rate of African American males would not be 54% in Philadelphia and the young black males growing up in that disparate situation would not have a greater chance at entering a federal penitentiary than they would college.

The truth is the only political capitol that effects real change in this country is, as that "almighty dollar".  So we need to fall in line with leaders like Warren Ballentine, Joe (The Black Eagle) Madison, Rev. Al Sharpton and exercise our power.  It’s estimated that our community spends $2 billion a day.  To have an effective blackout purchasing would have to be suspended 2 days before and after the actual day of protest. That’s $10 billion withheld from this countries treasury. Imagine the impact of that kind of loss to the bottom line of this country. 

That requires notice to be taken.  I encourage all who believe in the equality of men and who believe that justice must be rendered fairly everywhere to commit to the blackout.  Make your power felt.  Create the demand for change in this country.  I ask you to remember the words of A Philip Randolph:

“At
the banquet table of life, there are no reserved seats. You get what you can take and keep what you
can hold. If you can’t take anything, you won’t get anything. And if you can’t hold anything, you won’t
keep anything. And you can’t take
anything without organization.”

The fight for justice must be joined collectively if we are gain the equality we are refused. You and I must forgo our selfish tendencies and work for the greater good of specifically black people, but also all people of good will. Don’t fall into the trappings of apathy. Don’t allow your resolve to be shaken by feelings of inadequacy.  Every little bit counts.  Helen Keller refused to believe she could be of no use, she refused to believe that her actions were of less impact than another.

“ I am only one; but still I am one. I cannot do
everything, but I can do something. I will not refuse to do the something that
I can do.” – Helen Keller

Show your power – I know I will.  Commit to the Blackout on November 2nd, and let our voice be heard loudly throughout this nation.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sfdasgg permalink
    October 19, 2007 7:43 PM

    Sorry, but my rent is due on the 2nd.

  2. October 20, 2007 1:15 AM

    Sfdasgg:

    The blackout has nothing to do with things like paying your mortgage or your rent. It’s meant to impact the commercial industry of the country. So your rent being do does not preclude you from participating.

  3. October 20, 2007 6:46 PM

    I appreciate your discussion on this topic. These stories on the news have enraged me. Racism in all areas enrages me, and I’m white.

    Many people have the view that “I’m only one voice, what can I do?”, but your one voice, and my one voice, and the next person’s one voice etc etc all adds up to lots of voices.

    I wish I could believe that racism in all areas of life will be gone in my lifetime, but regardless, I will continue to speak out on this issue.

    Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

