Skip to content

The Wolf In Presidential Clothes

October 26, 2012

I’ve been trying to refrain from posting during this general election cycle, mainly because I am not bi-partisan in this race. No, I’m not reflexively given to vote for the African-American candidate (although I cannot say the same for some of my friends), and I am not always sure that democratic candidates have the right answers to our problems. However, I am not so ambiguous this election. I am sure, and what I am sure of is that Mitt Romney is a wolf at our proverbial door. He is a soulless shell that takes the form of whatever filler will get him the White House. I’m sure of this. I’m sure that he has no intention of defending women – I’m sure that he could care less about the institutionally poor, and socially outcast – I’m sure that he will enrich his generationaly wealthy friends at the expense of the middle-class, and I am sure that if given the chance he would turn back the racial clock in favor of some form of “States Rights” puritanism. I’m sure he is bad for all of us.

However, there is something worse that I am now sure of, and it is an indictment of the people who by their vote will decide the direction of this country. Yes, I am talking about “We the people.” I am sure that we are a cynical lot, I am sure that we do not vote with our heads but by our lower instincts; and I am sure that many of us, no matter the lies Mitt Romney or for that matter his running mate Paul Ryan committ, you will vote for them.

The truth is, I am sad to say, many of us harbor so much blind hatred for our current President, that we will vote against our own interest. We will vote for a man who has confessed he would support overturning Roe v. Wade – who has confessed to a belief in “States Rights” – who will abandon his carefully constructed positions to be seen as an “acceptable” alternative – who supports men who believe that rape is ordained by God and that the rich being taxed 15% up to 35% less than the working poor and middle class is “the right way to build our economy” and for a man whose faith disqualified nearly 35% of the citizens of this nation from access to the grace of God.

The latest confession of this stupidity, the last three debates. Apparently, the only debate that mattered was the first (for some of us), the last three dismantlings of Ryan and Romney made no difference – to some of us. The utter mimicking of President Obama’s foreign policy by Romney didn’t matter – to some of us, because the polls, if we are to believe them, reflect that the only momentum that was really generated was after that first debate. Oh, did I forget to say, that even during that debate Romney wasn’t playing us honest.

This election is going to tell a lot about where we are as a country, whether we are going to be an expansive middle or a polarized nation of have’s and have nots.

Romney is the wolf – I wonder how many of us really are just sheep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

